Netea, Mihai

Mihai Netea was born and studied medicine in Cluj-Napoca, Romania. He completed his PhD at the Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands, on studies investigating the cytokine network in sepsis. After working as a post-doc at the University of Colorado, he returned to Nijmegen where he finished his clinical training as an infectious diseases specialist, and where he currently heads the division of Experimental Medicine, Department of Internal Medicine, Nijmegen University Nijmegen Medical Center. His main research interests are pattern recognition of fungal pathogens and the induction of antifungal immunity, primary immunodeficiencies in innate immune system, and the study of the memory traits of innate immunity.

Models available:

Pattern recognition, Candida albicans, immunopathogenetic mechanisms of sepsis

Technology available:

Research in mice and man. Animal models in cancer (melanoma, neuroblastoma, glioma) and inflammation (Candida, others). Human studies include glioma pts and Thyroid cancer pts as well as cohorts in infectious diseases (Candida etc).

Key publications related to Mye-EUNITER:

  1. Netea MG, Wijmenga C, O'Neill LA. Genetic variation in Toll-like receptors and disease susceptibility. Nat Immunol. 2012 May 18;13(6):535-42.
  2. van de Veerdonk FL, Plantinga TS, Hoischen A, Smeekens SP, Joosten LA, Gilissen C, Arts P, Rosentul DC, Carmichael AJ, Smits-van der Graaf CA, Kullberg BJ, van der Meer JW, Lilic D, Veltman JA, Netea MG. STAT1 mutations in autosomal dominant chronic mucocutaneous candidiasis. N Engl J Med. 2011 Jul 7;365(1):54-61.
  3. Netea MG, van der Meer JW. Immunodeficiency and genetic defects of pattern-recognition receptors. N Engl J Med. 2011 Jan 6;364(1):60-70

National & International Personal Prizes & Awards

  • 1999 Merck Irving S. Sigal Memorial Award of the American Academy of Microbiology
  • 2002 International Sepsis Forum Young Investigator Award
  • 2002 Dutch Society for Medical Microbiology Aventis Award
  • 2003 Postdoctoral Investigator Award, International Cytokine Society
  • 2003 SmithKline Beecham ICAAC Award
  • 2005 European Society of Clinical Microbiology and Infectious Diseases Young Investigator Award
  • 2005 ICAAC Programme Committee Award in "Immunology of Infection"
  • 2006 WRO Goslinsgsprijs of the Infectious Diseases Society of the Netherlands
  • 2011 Radboud Science Award
  • 2013 European Society for Clinical Investigation Award for"Translational Research"